HisSpace

One thing that has been bugging me lately is the realization of how business-oriented and corporate nearly every aspect of life is these days. What is more bothersome is everyone’s ignorance of that fact and their unwillingness to really realize it or do anything about it.

A good example is an incident today. But before we get to that, let’s go through some background information.

I recently signed up on MySpace, despite my initial reluctance to do so. I don’t really care for the design or idea of the site, but its usefulness is outweighing its stupidity in a few ways, especially being able to keep up with good friends. I likely wouldn’t be able to do so in the same degree without it. Of course, the evil empire of Rupert Murdoch owns MySpace. If you are keeping score at home, the same organization of Fox Sports, FSN, and Fox News. Which really makes it “HisSpace”, meaning everything that you are seeing is the result of a boardroom decision. It isn’t so that you can talk with your friends or make new ones, it’s so that you will buy what they tell you and do what they tell you in the manner that you tell you. Of course, I choose to ignore this aspect because I’m able to talk with my friends at home. I endure this evil for the greater good.

Out of sheer curiosity, I checked out a page for the late Johnny Cash. It seemed disrespectful of the label and News Corporation to exploit a dead man’s career, and I left my two cents. Mere minutes later, I found that I had two private messages from a few fourteen year olds explaining deep and significant thoughts.

“OMG, Ic4n’t belEVE You DSS Jhnny CSH like dat. You R teh SUCK!”

…it’s like a fish obediently jumping onto the bait. What scares me isn’t the sort of marketing that is being pushed on our society, but the willingness to take it out of the spoon that is being fed to them.

Leave a Reply

